Like what you see so far?

Sign up for our newsletter and get great content delivered straight to your inbox.

Client Story

Loyalty Services Company Simplifies and Saves with Red Hat Cloud Infrastructure

Faced with the need to deliver applications and customer solutions faster, marketing companies are tasked with managing multiple tools and operating environments – all tied to escalating support and licensing costs. With Scalar’s assistance, a global loyalty marketing company embarked on a plan to address this complexity and reduce costs associated with maintaining their development and testing environments.

Casual shopping woman holding a rewards card – focus on foreground

Global Marketing & Retail Analytics Company

Toronto, ON

Marketing/Advertising

Objective

Achieve a reduction in costs and simplified licensing by streamlining the company’s operating system (OS) environment and supported platforms into an open source framework.

  • Reduction in OS licensing reduced the load on servers
  • Flexibility to change deployment models without incurring additional costs
  • CloudForms provisioning engine provides developer self-service portal
  • Red Hat Cloud Infrastructure
  • Red Hat CloudForms & Satellite
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux & Enterprise Linux OpenStack Platform

Our Approach

Going into the project, the goal was to streamline their operating system (OS) environment and supported platforms into an open source framework. The company was already using Red Hat products in their middleware application layer and on some operating systems. “We worked with them to develop a business case to ascertain if it made financial sense to simplify their environment by making a larger stake in the Red Hat product line,” said Shea Stewart, National Infrastructure and Cloud Team Lead at Scalar.

It is very easy to set up and deploy, but it is important to customize the tool to ensure it is tailored to the client’s business process.

Shea Stewart

National Infrastructure and Cloud Team Lead, Scalar

After agreeing that the Red Hat platform could help reduce the overall spend and simplify license management, the team reviewed the technical capabilities and made the decision to go forward with a proof of concept.

Solution

A Red Hat licensing package was purchased to ensure all systems remained under subscription and under support. They also have the flexibility with the licensed technologies to change deployment models without having to go back to the vendor and spend more money. The subscription includes:

Private Cloud Infrastructure

The core subscription (Red Hat Cloud Infrastructure) provides heterogeneous coverage and includes the ability to deploy their VMware Hypervisor virtualization environment. It also provides automated provisioning, configuration management, and software management of Red Hat Enterprise Linux.

Self-Service Portal

Typically, standing up an environment for developers can take a lot of time and resources. This complexity is eliminated via a self-service portal (Red Hat CloudForms) that ensures developers get up and running quickly without burdening the IT team. The portal workflows required customization – “it is very easy to set up and deploy, but it is important to customize the tool to ensure it is tailored to the client’s business process,” said Stewart. Scalar worked with the client to understand how they work and put compliance and governance policies in place.

In all, the Cloud Infrastructure license has provided access to a suite of Red Hat products, including:

  • CloudForms
  • Satellite
  • Enterprise Linux
  • Enterprise Linux OpenStack Platform

“The reality is that only about one third of our client’s environment is production grade, warranting the higher spend, and bells and whistles functionality. For the remaining two thirds which are used for development and testing, they just required the right platform at the right price – Red Hat has provided this,” said Stewart.

Outcomes

  • Reduction in OS licensing reduced the load on servers
  • Flexibility to change deployment models without incurring additional costs
  • CloudForms provisioning engine provides developer self-services portal
Need Help?

Speak To An Expert

1-866-364-5588

Samyul.Yoo

How can we help?

We love talking about this stuff so if there's something on your mind and you're not sure how to go about executing it, set up a conversation with one of us.

Like what you see so far?

Sign up for our newsletter and get great content delivered straight to your inbox.

Client Story

Une société de services de fidélisation simplifie ses activités et réalise des économies avec l’infrastructure en nuage Red Hat

Rester compétitif sur le marché de l’analyse de détail et de la fidélisation s’avère coûteux. Confrontées à la nécessité de fournir des applications et des solutions client plus rapidement, les sociétés de marketing doivent gérer de nombreux outils et environnements opérationnels. Cette gestion est indissociable d’une augmentation des coûts de soutien et de licence. Avec l’aide de Scalar, une société internationale de fidélisation s’est lancée dans l’élaboration d’un plan visant à répondre à cette complexité et à réduire les coûts de maintien de ses environnements de développement et d’essai

Société internationale de marketing et d’analyse de détail

Toronto, ON

Commercialisation

Objectif

Réduire les coûts et simplifier les licences en transformant l’environnement du système d’exploitation (SE) et les plateformes prises en charge de la société en un cadre source libre.

  • La réduction des licences du SE a réduit la charge sur les serveurs
  • La flexibilité leur permet de modifier les modèles de déploiement sans occasionner de frais supplémentaires
  • Le moteur de provisioning CloudForms offre un portail de libre-service aux développeurs
  • Red Hat Cloud Infrastructure
  • Red Hat CloudForms & Satellite
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux & Enterprise Linux OpenStack Platform

Notre approche

En prenant part au projet, notre objectif était de simplifier l’environnement de leur système d’exploitation (SE) et les plateformes prises en charge sous la forme d’un cadre source libre. La société utilisait déjà des produits Red Hat dans sa couche logicielle intermédiaire et dans certains systèmes d’exploitation. « Nous avons travaillé avec eux à élaborer une analyse de rentabilité pour être sûrs qu’il serait financièrement avantageux pour eux de simplifier leur environnement en se reposant davantage sur la ligne de produits Red Hat », explique Shea Stewart, directrice de l’équipe nationale de l’infrastructure et du nuage chez Scalar.

Lorsque nous avons convenu que la plateforme Red Hat pouvait contribuer à la réduction des dépenses générales et à la simplification de la gestion des licences, l’équipe a examiné les capacités techniques et pris la décision de lancer une validation de principe.

L’installation et le déploiement sont très faciles, mais il est important de personnaliser l’outil pour l’adapter au processus d’activité du client.

Shea Stewart
National Infrastructure and Cloud Team Lead, Scalar

Solution

Achat d’un groupe de licences Red Hat garantissant que tous les systèmes restaient inscrits et bénéficiaient du soutien technique. Ils ont aussi la possibilité grâce aux technologies concédées de modifier les modèles de déploiement sans avoir à solliciter le fournisseur et dépenser de l’argent.

Une infrastructure en nuage privée

L’abonnement de base (infrastructure en nuage Red Hat) offre une couverture hétérogène et leur permet de déployer leur environnement de virtualisation VMware Hypervisor. Il offre aussi l’approvisionnement, la gestion de configuration et la gestion logicielle automatiques de Red Hat Enterprise Linux.

Un portail de libre-service

En général, la mise sur pied d’un environnement pour développeurs demande beaucoup de temps et de moyens. Cette complexité est éliminée par le biais d’un portail de libre-service (Red Hat CloudForms) qui garantit aux développeurs une mise en service rapide sans être dépendant de l’équipe des TI. Le déroulement des opérations nécessitait une personnalisation – « l’installation et le déploiement sont très faciles, mais il est important de personnaliser l’outil pour l’adapter au processus d’activité du client », a confié Mme Stewart. Scalar a collaboré avec le client pour comprendre la façon dont il travaille et mettre en place les politiques de conformité et de gouvernance. Au total, la licence d’infrastructure en nuage a donné l’accès à une suite de produits Red Hat, notamment :

  • CloudForms
  • Satellite
  • Enterprise Linux
  • Enterprise Linux OpenStack Platform

Résultat

« En vérité, seul le tiers environ de l’environnement de nos clients est consacré à la production, garantissant une plus grande vitesse et toutes les fonctionnalités possibles. Pour les deux tiers restants, qui servent au développement et aux essais, il leur fallait tout simplement la bonne plateforme au bon prix – c’est ce que leur a procuré Red Hat, » ajoute Mme Stewart.

« Il leur fallait tout simplement la bonne plateforme au bon prix – Red Hat la leur a apportée. »

Outcomes

  • Reduction in OS licensing reduced the load on servers
  • Flexibility to change deployment models without incurring additional costs
  • CloudForms provisioning engine provides developer self-services portal
Need Help?

Consulter un Expert

1-866-364-5588

Comment pouvons-nous vous aider?

Nous adorons discuter de ce sujet, alors si vous avez une idée et que vous n’êtes pas certain de la façon elle peut être mise en œuvre, communiquez avec l’un de nous.